Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Bridget Jaune's diary
4 décembre 2007

Permis de tuer

2 things you realise when you arrive in Beijing, is that, if you want to go from one point to another, by not using a car, you incur a even higher risk of dying from a crash. Je m' explique:

If you are a pedestrian, forget about your own safety. Crossing a street requires a concentration tantamount to the one you need when dealing with an official delegation (i.e. meaning a lot). You have to look everywhere for everything. I' ve opted for the "follow-the-0thers" solution. So far, so good but very scary.

Then if you want to take the subway, you are not safe neither. It is a constant struggle to get in or out. It even looks sometimes like no one is neither getting in or out and people are just stucked in between the sliding doors. I' ve seen arms almost choped by doors closing, bags left on the platform because it did not follow the owner who was already in, and people are pushing and pushing. And me? Mmmmh the first time, I behaved as if in Brussels, very civilisely, and waited for the following metro, thinking that there will be less people. That was forgeting that I was in Beijing, so I turned in a fury as the other fellows. And now... I love taking the subway.

Publicité
Commentaires
Archives
Publicité
Publicité